Day 7 – red dirt

I was up early and eager to get on the road. Today I was travelling from Noresman to Hyden along a dirt road.

After filling up the tank, jerry, and a gatorade bottle, I was ready to tackle the 300km stretch of road.

image

When I got to the start I was surprised but just how good condition the road was in. Red dirt, well compacted and smooth. This was going to be some nice riding.

image

I was a little nervous about the distance with out petrol, so I dropped my speed back to 75km/h and enjoyed the scenery.

image

I stopped at a lookout and got speaking with a guy I sat behind the previous day on the highway. We started chatting about the bike and I mentioned in passing about fuel concerns. He said he would keep an eye for me in case anything happens. Well in fact he followed me the whole way despite having 400km to drive that day. He had been in a bike accident in is youth and commented how lucky he was to have had someone with him that day. I was once again pleasantly surprised by a strangers kindness.

As I road I couldn’t get over the condition of the road. It was so easy to ride, even better then some tar roads!

image

image

image

There are a few mines along this road so I discovered road trains also frequent the road.

image

On the end of the road I hit the tar, thanked my new friend for his support and road into Hyde for fuel. I decided that was enough riding for the day and headed for Wave Rock Caravan park. Set up camp and went to see the rock.

image

image

image

After a nice walk it was dinner time and time to meet some more new people.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

